Canon Thursday: Unpopular Opinion

At the risk of annoying my Sherlockian friends, I will admit my unpopular Sherlock Holmes opinion, which is that, while I believe Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was brilliant at plotting and characterization, I wouldn’t classify him as one of my favorite writers when it comes to language use or the sheer beauty of his prose. For me, he falls below several others in those categories.

What’s your unpopular Sherlock Holmes opinion? Let me know in the comments.

8 thoughts on “Canon Thursday: Unpopular Opinion

  1. I think Holmes liked women, but chose not to get involved/married/have a family because he cared more about his work/had a bad experience/just knew that his life was not one conducive to happy family relations. I don’t ship. Please don’t hate me.

  2. I think the CBS series might be fun. By the way, did you know that “Unpopular Opinions” is the title of a collection of essays by Dorothy Sayers, which include some of the seminal works of Sherlockian Scholarship?

Leave a Reply

