Canon Thursday: Story You Want to See

Image

A few Canon Thursdays back, I asked my readers which Sherlock Holmes story they’d like to adapt if they had the chance. Today I’m asking which one you’d like to see on your screen, either as a film or television episode.

Here’s what I want to know:

1) Which story would you pick?

2) Why?

3) Which Holmes-verse do you want to see it in? I’m restricting us to current versions, so you can go for the BBC Sherlock series, a Ritchie film, or the new CBS version. (Or, you can invent your own and explain why)

My answers:

1) The Adventure of the Yellow Face

2) It’s a classic story with a hilarious twist, the fact that Holmes gets it wrong. The ending is extremely surprising, especially in a Victorian context.

3. I’d love to see the BBC series tackle an updated version of this story. I realize it’s a tricky one to do without being offensive, but I have faith that Moffat and Co could get it right.

What about you? Let me know your answers in the comments

One thought on “Canon Thursday: Story You Want to See

  1. I’ve read some blogs, etc. from people who were offended by “The Blind Banker” and “A Scandal in Belgravia,” so I wouldn’t say BBCSherlock, whatever its considerable virtues, has a stellar record for not offending. However, moving on.

    I would like to see BBCSherlock do “The Solitary Cyclist.” I would dearly love to see a case that doesn’t involve serial killers or the British government. I don’t expect any of this to happen. My favourite is “Copper,” but I’m afraid of what they might do to my girl, Violet Hunter.

    “The Man with the Twisted Lip” would be a good one for *Elementary,* because of Holmes’ efforts to stay drug-free. “The Problem of Thor Bridge” and *The Valley of Fear* would also be good, as would “The Speckled Band” and “The Red-Headed League.” I am hoping they stay away from Moriarty for two or three years. I am tired of Moriarty. And Adler can wait too.

    I will have to think about Downey/Law.

Leave a Reply

