In Which I Have a Book Coming Out

Welcome to my Sherlockian blog, a place where I write about all things Sherlock Holmes.

Here’s some information about my upcoming Holmes novel, which is being published by MX Publishing.

Q: What is your book called?
A: The Detective and the Woman: A Novel of Sherlock Holmes

Q: When will your book be out?
A: The launch date is April 16th. It will be available for pre-order before that, but I’m not sure when. I will post when it is.

Q: What kind of book is it?
A: It’s a Sherlock Holmes pastiche. It’s been so long since Sir Arthur Conan Doyle lived and wrote that his characters are now in the public domain. That means I can write about them without copyright permission. A pastiche just means I’ve used existing characters to tell a new story. It’s also historical fiction; several real-life characters appear, including Thomas Edison.

Q: Oh, so it’s movie fanfiction?
A: No, no, and no! I am a huge fan of the Guy Ritchie Sherlock Holmes films and the BBC Sherlock series, but this book is based on the original characters created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in his four novels and fifty-six short stories.

Q: What is it about?
A: It’s about Sherlock Holmes and Irene Adler solving a mystery together in Florida in the 1890’s. Guns, the beach, and villains, oh my!

Q: How will it be available?
A: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Amazon Kindle, Nook, and others that I’m not aware of yet. Will add to the list as the date gets closer.

Q: How long will it be?
A: Over two hundred pages, exact number unknown right now.

Q: Why did you write a book?
A: I’ve always wanted to write a book of some kind, so this past November I decided to participate in NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month. After seventeen days of spending most of my free time writing, I had a mystery novel. The people who read it were ridiculously kind about it, and here we are.

Q: Who’s publishing it?
A: MX Publishing They specialize in Sherlock Holmes-related books, both fiction and nonfiction.

Leave a Reply

